Management Team
 Scientific Advisory Board
Home About Us Technology Contact Us
Professor Hermona Soreq
Professor Hermona Soreq, dean of the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences of the Hebrew University in Jerusalem, is considered one of the most creative molecular neuroscientists in Israel. Her research is primarily directed at the cholinesterase genes, their variant proteins products, and the biological roles of these proteins in different tissue and cell types. For her research that has successfully controlled certain errors in gene expression as a safer and more effective alternative to conventional drugs, Prof. Soreq was awarded the Kaye Innovation Award in June 2008.

Since 1986 she has been a faculty member at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, where she has headed the Department of Biological Chemistry, the Alexander Silberman Institute of Life Sciences, and the Roland Centre for Neurodegenerative Diseases.

Prof. Soreq has been awarded numerous awards and honors, including the U.S. Army Science Award for Excellence, Chancellor's Distinguished Lectureship from the University of California at Berkley, and the Israeli Ministry of Health Prize for Excellence in Biomedical Research.

Professor Smadar Cohen
Professor Smadar Cohen from the Department of Biotechnology Engineering, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, carried out her post-doctoral research at MIT with Prof. Robert Langer. In 2004, she was appointed the head of the Department of Biotechnology Engineering and in 2006 she was bestowed as the Claire and Harold Oshry Chair in Biotechnology.

Prof. Cohen’s research explores several areas in modern biotechnology, from the design of instructive biomaterials for inducing tissue regeneration and engineering ex- and in-vivo, to implementation of intelligent delivery systems for therapeutic peptides and proteins. Her group developed AlgiMatrix – a scaffold for 3D cell culture – that has been licensed by Invitrogen Corporation (Carlsbad, California).

Prof. Cohen serves on the scientific advisory board of several biotechnology and nanotechnology companies and is a member of the Katamon Committee of the Israel Ministry of Trade and Industry Magnet Program. In 1997, she was nominated as a fellow of the Israel Ministry of Science.

  PharMedica Ltd. Tel: +972.4.834.2155 Fax: +972.4.834.1233